Asharq Al-awsat English Middle-east and International News and Opinion from Asharq Al-awsat Newspaper

Kuwait Joins UN Security Council in 2018

Kuwait Joins UN Security Council in 2018

Sunday, 31 December, 2017 - 09:45
The United Nations Security Council. (Reuters)

Kuwait will join the United Nations Security Council as a non-permanent member in January.

The Gulf state will also chair the council in February.

Kuwait won its place at the council after a vote. It now replaces Egypt as the only Arab member at the council.

Kuwait will be joined by the Ivory Coast, Equatorial Guinea, Peru and Poland, succeeding Japan, Egypt, Senegal, Ukraine and Uruguay after their two-year temporary membership expired.

The Security Council is made up of 10 non-permanent members elected to two-year terms and five permanent powers: Britain, China, France, Russia and the United States.

The elected countries -- all of which were put forward by their regional grouping -- will begin their term on January 1.

Kuwait first joined the UN in 1963 and was granted membership at the Security Council in 1978 and 1979.

While pursuing a seat at the council, Kuwait vowed to follow up on the implementation of resolutions related to the region. It will persuade the other members to avert conflict and rely instead on diplomacy.

Editor Picks