Navarro Calls for Video Review Rule Change After Double Bounce in Defeat 

USA's Emma Navarro hits a return against Poland's Iga Swiatek during their women's singles quarter-final match on day eleven of the Australian Open tennis tournament in Melbourne on January 22, 2025. (AFP)
USA's Emma Navarro hits a return against Poland's Iga Swiatek during their women's singles quarter-final match on day eleven of the Australian Open tennis tournament in Melbourne on January 22, 2025. (AFP)
TT

Navarro Calls for Video Review Rule Change After Double Bounce in Defeat 

USA's Emma Navarro hits a return against Poland's Iga Swiatek during their women's singles quarter-final match on day eleven of the Australian Open tennis tournament in Melbourne on January 22, 2025. (AFP)
USA's Emma Navarro hits a return against Poland's Iga Swiatek during their women's singles quarter-final match on day eleven of the Australian Open tennis tournament in Melbourne on January 22, 2025. (AFP)

Emma Navarro's split-second decision not to halt play after a double bounce in her Australian Open quarter-final loss to Iga Swiatek on Wednesday cost her a vital point and the American called for changes to the rules on the use of video reviews.

Navarro lost the match 6-1 6-2, with her fightback fading following a controversial moment at 2-2 in the second set, when Swiatek ran to the net and returned a low shot after the ball had bounced twice.

The incident was missed by the chair umpire and while the 23-year-old Navarro sought a video review immediately after losing the point she was informed by the official that it was too late as she had continued the rally.

"I think it (a video review) should be allowed after the point even if you play. It happened so fast. You hit the shot, and she hits it back, and you're just like 'Oh, I guess I'm playing'," Navarro told reporters.

"In the back of your head you're like, 'Okay, maybe I can still win the point even though it wasn't called'. It's going to be a downer if I stop the point and it turns out it wasn't a double bounce. Yeah, it's tough.

"I think we should be able to see it afterwards and make that call."

Swiatek, a five-times Grand Slam champion who is chasing her first Australian Open title, said it was the official's job to call double bounces.

"I wasn't sure if it was a double bounce or I hit it with my frame," Swiatek added.

"It was hard to say, because I was sprinting. I don't remember even seeing the contact point. Sometimes you don't really look when you hit the ball.

"I thought this is like the umpire's job to call it. I was also waiting for the (video review), but I didn't see it, so I proceeded. I was already focused on the next one."

It was not the first time Swiatek had benefited from a no-call on a double bounce at a Grand Slam with a similar incident occurring during her quarter-final win over Jessica Pegula in her triumphant 2022 French Open run.

Navarro shrugged off Wednesday's incident, saying it was not the only factor in her defeat.

"It is what it is, I guess," she added.

"It's tough to place blame on anybody. It's a tough call. I think the rules should be different."



Dortmund Sacks Coach Sahin

Dortmund's Turkish headcoach Nuri Sahin reacts during the UEFA Champions League football match between Bologna and Borussia Dortmund at the Renato Dall'Ara stadium in Bologna on January 21, 2025. (Photo by Alberto PIZZOLI / AFP)
Dortmund's Turkish headcoach Nuri Sahin reacts during the UEFA Champions League football match between Bologna and Borussia Dortmund at the Renato Dall'Ara stadium in Bologna on January 21, 2025. (Photo by Alberto PIZZOLI / AFP)
TT

Dortmund Sacks Coach Sahin

Dortmund's Turkish headcoach Nuri Sahin reacts during the UEFA Champions League football match between Bologna and Borussia Dortmund at the Renato Dall'Ara stadium in Bologna on January 21, 2025. (Photo by Alberto PIZZOLI / AFP)
Dortmund's Turkish headcoach Nuri Sahin reacts during the UEFA Champions League football match between Bologna and Borussia Dortmund at the Renato Dall'Ara stadium in Bologna on January 21, 2025. (Photo by Alberto PIZZOLI / AFP)

Borussia Dortmund has fired coach Nuri Sahin, the German soccer club said on Wednesday after a shock loss to Bologna in the Champions League that stretched their losing run to four games across all competitions.

"Borussia Dortmund has released head coach Nuri Sahin with immediate effect following an internal analysis of recent sporting developments," said the club in a statement.

Several German media outlets had reported the move earlier.

Borussia Dortmund's 2-1 loss at Bologna increased the pressure on Sahin on Tuesday in Dortmund's fourth consecutive loss at the start of the new year in all competitions.

Serhou Guirassy gave Dortmund the lead with a chipped penalty and ran to celebrate with Sahin.

It looked like the Champions League could provide a much-needed boost for a team floundering in the Bundesliga, but two goals in two minutes from Thijs Dallinga and Samuel Iling-Junior changed the game for previously winless Bologna.