Asharq Al-awsat English Middle-east and International News and Opinion from Asharq Al-awsat Newspaper

Islamic Military Counter Terrorism Coalition brings together 41 Countries Facing Extremism

Islamic Military Counter Terrorism Coalition brings together 41 Countries Facing Extremism

Tuesday, 21 November, 2017 - 12:30
Logo of the Islamic Military Coalition to Combat Terrorism

The Islamic Military Coalition to Counter Terrorism, which is formed of 41 states, is a unified Islamic system to counter extremism and terrorism.

The strategic vision of the participating states, with the support of foreign countries and international organizations, focuses on coordinating and consolidating efforts at the intellectual and media levels, combating the financing of terrorism, and countering all forms of terrorism and extremism by actively contributing to international efforts to preserve international peace and security.

The coalition was announced upon the initiative of Saudi Arabia and was announced by Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman in December 2015, to unite the efforts of Islamic countries in the face of terrorism.

On Sunday, the Coalition’s defense ministers will hold their first meeting in Riyadh under the theme “Allied against Terrorism,” with the participation of the diplomatic missions accredited to the Kingdom.

During their meeting in Riyadh in March 2016, the Chiefs of Staff of the Islamic States emphasized their determination to intensify their efforts in the fight against terrorism through joint action, depending on each country’s capabilities.

The coalition draws its legitimacy by the participation of the majority of Muslim countries. It also enjoys the support and respect of the international community and seeks to employ local culture to combat terrorism by formulating regional and local solutions.

As for drying up the sources of terrorism, the Coalition cooperates with relevant parties in member states in the fight against terrorist financing, by promoting best practices, developing legal, regulatory and operational frameworks, and facilitating the exchange of information to support the prevention, detection and arrest of terrorist financiers.

The Islamic Military Coalition against Terrorism consists of Afghanistan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Benin, Burkina Faso, Egypt, Jordan, Kuwait, Senegal, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates and Yemen.

Editor Picks